How to string short sentences together

Lesson 2

FOCUS:
J’ai from verb Avoir
Adjectives
Colours
Numbers

We learnt that Bonjour means Hello! or Goodmorning!
In this lesson we will see
Au Revoir! Goodbye!

However before that, we need to focus on parts of the verb AVOIR
To learn how to say ‘I have’ ‘You have’; we will look at some simple adjectives and where they are placed. These will include some colours. We will then learn the numbers from 1-20.

In the previous lesson, we learnt how to greet people. We used
‘Bonjour’ in front of Monsieur, Madame or Mademoiselle.

When leaving them we can use
‘Au Revoir’ which means “Goodbye’ or ‘See You’. It is polite to say
Au Revoir Monsieur!
Au Revoir Madame!
Au Revoir Mademoiselle!

However, don’t mix up Au Revoir with the verb ‘avoir’ to have.

J’ai=I have
Vous avez=You have

J’ai =I have
I have a house

J’ai une maison
I have a house

Vous avez une maison
You have a house

Some adjectives

The Adjectives we look up in a dictionary are in masculine singular form

If we look up big we will find grand
If we look up small we will
find petit

Grand becomes grande in front of a feminine word.
Petit becomes petite
Whilst most adjectives just add an’ e’ to form the feminine singular : Noir/noire (black)
Some adjectives change completely
Blanc/Blanche (white)

J’ai une grande maison
I have a big house

J’ai une grande maison blanche

Colours go after the noun:
I have a car
J’ai une voiture
I have a small car
J’ai une petite voiture
I have a small red car
J’ai une petite voiture rouge
Rouge
Jaune
Rouge=Red
Jaune=Yellow
Colours like rouge and jaune remain the same in the masculine and feminine as they end in an ‘e’

Now try the following:
You have a big white car
I have a small black house

Answer
Vous avez une grande voiture blanche
J’ai une petite maison noire

How do you say?
I have two small white cars
Answer:
J’ai deux petites voitures blanches
Adjectives take an S in the plural eg.
Petite petites

We will revisit the adjectives at a later date.
Two cars=Deux voitures
How’s that?
Let’s learn the numbers now!

Un
Deux
Trois
Quatre
Cinq
Six
Sept
huit
Neuf
Dix

Un may mean one or a

Un enfant=one child

Deux enfants=two children
Trois
Quatre
Cinq
Six enfants
Sept
Huit enfants
Neuf
Dix enfants

Six enfants=six children

I have six children
J’ai SIX enfants

You have 9 children
Vous avez NEUF enfants

Let’s see whether we are ready for numbers 11-20:

11=ONZE
12=DOUZE
13=TREIZE
14=QUATORZE
15 QUINZE
16 SEIZE
17 DIX-SEPT
18 DIX-HUIT
19 DIX-NEUF
20 VINGT

Try the following exercise:
14 children
17 cars
20 houses

Answers:
quatorze enfants
dix-sept voitures
vingt maisons

And now:

Try translating:
I have 15 children and 12 houses. You have 16 children and 20 houses.

J’ai quinze enfants et douze maisons.

Vous avez seize enfants et vingt maisons.

Vous avez de la chance, Monsieur!
You are lucky , Sir!

AU REVOIR, MONSIEUR! GOODBYE, SIR!

About angeleannandrews

I am Anglo Maltese and live in Surrey with my husband and son. I have been teaching languages for almost 30 years. Having been trained in Anthropology, I have social issues at heart. When I was nearing 50, I wished to use my talents to make money for charity. I have created 50 photo-poems which will be featuring on this site. If you wish to encourage my effort, please give a small donation to ShelterBox http://www.justgiving.com/user/23773460 after reading my poems. Many people are out there actually tackling the world's problems. We may not be able to join them but every little helps.Thanks a million! Angie
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

