Madame La Vache

Lesson 3

 

La Douane= The Customs

It is important to learn how to answer basic questions.

Comment vous appelez-vous? means  “What is your name?’

We answer by saying ‘Je m’appelle’ which means “My name is”.

We have already seen how ‘Je’ means ‘I’ and ‘ Vous’ means ‘ You’

‘Je m’appelle’ literally means ‘I call myself’=My name is…

‘Vous vous appelez’ means ‘You call yourself’=Your name is…

‘Je suis’ comes from the verb ETRE ‘To be’.

Je suis petit=I am small

Je suis grand=I am big

If Madame La Vache wanted to say “I am small’, she would have said ‘Je suis petite’

If Madame La Vache wanted to say ‘I am big’, she would have said ‘Je suis grande’

instead she wishes to say ‘I am old’.

‘Old’ in French is ‘ Vieux’ in front of masculine singular nouns and ‘vieille’ in front of feminine singular ouns.

‘Je suis vieille’=I am old

Madame La Vache gives other bits of information about herself using ‘Je suis’

Can you spot all the phrases where she uses’ Je suis’?

In turn the customs officer uses ‘You are’ ‘vous êtes’

You should really learn the first person singular ‘Je’ and the second person plural ‘vous’ of the verbs ETRE and AVOIR. They are very useful.

Also useful is the expression C’est= It is

‘Ce sont’ is the plural of ‘C’est’ and means ‘They are’.

C’est un enfant=It is a child

Ce sont des enfants=They children

C’est une vache=It is a cow

Ce sont des veaux=They are calves

We will learn more next lesson.

About angeleannandrews

I am Anglo Maltese and live in Surrey with my husband and son. I have been teaching languages for almost 30 years. Having been trained in Anthropology, I have social issues at heart. When I was nearing 50, I wished to use my talents to make money for charity. I have created 50 photo-poems which will be featuring on this site. If you wish to encourage my effort, please give a small donation to ShelterBox http://www.justgiving.com/user/23773460 after reading my poems. Many people are out there actually tackling the world's problems. We may not be able to join them but every little helps.Thanks a million! Angie
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

