Le ménage The housework

Here are some useful phrases for household tasks in French:

Household tasks= Les tâches ménagères

Actionner le lave-linge=To put on the washing machine

Vider le lave-vaisselle=To empty the dish washer

Ranger les vêtements et le linge= To sort out the clothes and the linen

Vider les poubelles=To empty the dustbins

Passer l’aspirateur=To do the hoovering

What else can you think of? Try writing down other household tasks in French before having a look at this useful link:

http://www.happychild.org.uk/freeway/french/vocab/householdtasks01.htm

Let’s look at how one uses different tenses to describe what one is doing or what one has done around the house:

Que faites-vous à la maison?

What do you do in the house?

Je fais la vaisselle=I do the washing up

Je faisais la vaisselle=I was doing the washing up

J’ai fait la vaisselle =I did the washing up

J’avais fait la vaisselle=I had done the washing up

Je vais faire la vaisselle=I am going to do the washing up

Je ferai la vaisselle=I will do the washing up

Faire le repassage=To do the ironing

Je vais faire le repassage= I am going to do the ironing

Nettoyer les vitres=To clean the windows

Quand vas-tu nettoyer les vitres? When are you going to clean the glass panes?

Je déteste faire le ménage!

I hate doing housework

J’adore préparer le petit-déjeuner / les repas

I love preparing breakfast/ meals

Nettoyer la moquette=To clean the carpet

And how do you keep your carpets clean? I have found that professional carpet cleaners do make a difference leaving your rugs nice and clean :

A-Difference http://www.a-difference.co.uk/services#rug

Les moquettes sont propres.= The rugs are clean!

Vive la difference!

And if you’re doing it all yourself, you might want to plan your week accordingly:

http://www.toutpratique.com/3-Organiser/4603-Organisation-des-taches-menageres.php

Bon courage!

About angeleannandrews

I am Anglo Maltese and live in Surrey with my husband and son. I have been teaching languages for almost 30 years. Having been trained in Anthropology, I have social issues at heart. When I was nearing 50, I wished to use my talents to make money for charity. I have created 50 photo-poems which will be featuring on this site. If you wish to encourage my effort, please give a small donation to ShelterBox http://www.justgiving.com/user/23773460 after reading my poems. Many people are out there actually tackling the world's problems. We may not be able to join them but every little helps.Thanks a million! Angie
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

