Shopping for Clothes in French

A few exercises to help with Revision of French Vocab for Clothes shopping. Here’s a lesson plan!

Focus on verbs: Acheter and Vendre in the Present and the Perfect Tense
Vocabulary to do with fashion and clothes.

Learn the words which are are similar in French and English.

Ex.1) Start by linking the following vocabulary:
Un anorak=sandals
Un bonnet=A sweat-shirt
Le jean= A wooly hat
Un jogging=A bracelet
Le short=sneakers
Un sweat-shirt= jeans
Un T-shirt =an anorak
Les baskets= The sweater
Les trainings= a T-shirt
Les sandales=Trainers
Le Bermuda=dinner-jacket
Le smoking=tracksuit
Le bracelet=Bermudas
Le pull= ballet shoes
Les ballerines=shorts

Ex2) Clothes vocabulary: Circle 5 items you are going to buy.
Check them against those your partner encircled .
Do you need the same items?

Ex3 )Enjoy a mini conversation with your partner.
Je cherche des ballerines
I’m looking for ballet shoes.
Moi aussi.
Me too.
Or
Moi, je cherche des trainings.
I’m looking for trainers.

Je porte un pull(over)
I am wearing a sweater.
Moi aussi= Me too!

Je vais prendre l’anorak.
I’m going to take (as in to buy) the anorak
Je n’aime pas la couleur.
I don’t like the colour
OR
J’adore la couleur!
I love the colour!

Ex 4) Colours:
Colours agree with the noun:
BLEU/BLEUE= Masc.Sing/Fem. Sing.
BLEUS/BLEUES=Masc.Pl./Masc./Pl.

Un foulard noir=A black scarf
Des foulards noirs=Black scarves

Une chemise noire=A black shirt
Des chemises noires=Black shirts

Colours ending in an ‘e’like rouge/ orange etc don’t take another ‘e’ in the feminine.
Un bouton rouge= A red button
Une jupe rouge=A red dress

However, they do take an ‘S’ in the plural:
Des boutons rouges
Des jupes rouges

Des sandales rou___= Red sandals
Une cravate bl___= A blue tie

Ex 5)
Verb Acheter
Présent
j’achète=I buy/I am buying
tu achètes
il/elle achète
nous achetons
vous ________
ils/elles achètent

Qu’est-ce que vous achetez?

Passé composé
j’ai acheté=I bought
tu as acheté
il/elle a acheté
nous ___________
vous avez acheté
ils/elles ont acheté

Qu’est-ce que vous avez acheté?

Vendre
Présent
je vends
tu vends
il/elle _____
nous vendons
vous vendez
ils/elles vendent

Qu’est-ce que vous vendez?

Vendre
Passé composé
j’ai vendu
tu as vendu
il/elle ________
nous avons vendu
vous avez vendu
ils/elles ont vendu

Qu’est-ce que vous avez vendu?
Qu’ avez -vous vendu?

Remember that there are other useful verbs when it comes to clothing:
Mettre=To wear/To put on or even to put
Je mets le déodorant dans le casier
I put the deodorant in the locker.

Je mets
Tu ___
Il/Elle met

Porter=To wear/ to be wearing
Je porte une ceinture=I am wearing a belt
Elle porte=She wears
Jacqueline ne porte plus sa bague de fiançailles.
Jacqueline is no longer wearing her engagement ring
Imperfect tense
Elle portait=She wore/ she was wearing/ She used to wear
La mariée portait une belle robe
The bride wore a lovely dress
Elle portait toujours un foulard
She always used to wear a scarf.

OBJECT PRONOUNS

LE=Him/ It
LA= Her/it
LES=Them

Je vais prendre le sweat-shirt
Je vais le prendre
je vais prendre la ceinture
je vais la prendre
Je vais prendre les gants
Je vais les prendre

LEARN:
Je vais le prendre
Je vais la prendre
Je vais les prendre

Je le vends
Je la vends
Je les vends

Ex6a)
Je vais prendre la cravate
Je vais__ prendre
J’aime bien les chaussettes, les bottes et les gants; je __ prends.

Elle va vendre son rasoir électrique
Il va __ vendre

Ex6 b)
Passé Composé
Have you sold the hat?
Avez-vous vendu le chapeau?
Oui, je l’ai vendu = I sold it
Avez-vous______le chapeau?
Je _’ai acheté=I bought it

Ex 7)
a)Chassez l’intrus (Find the odd man out)-use a dictionary:
Le pull en Mohair/ La robe en velours/ le rasoir électrique
Les ballerines en soie / Le manteau en laine

b)En laine / En Coton / En Soie/ En cuir
En Polyester/ En velours /En voiture
Which is the odd man out?

Ex 8)
Il me plaît
Elle me plaît

Le pardessus(overcoat)me plaît
Il me plaît
La veste (jacket)me plaît
Elle me plaît
Qu’est-ce que vous aimez comme vêtements?

Ex9)
Link up the following:
1 Est-ce que je peux vous aider?
2 Oui,j’ai besoin d’un maillot de corps (un T-shirt)blanc.
3 La cravate bleue va bien avec votre chemise.
4 C’est vraiment super, cette nouvelle jupe
5 Mettez vos chaussures dans le casier!
6 Elle a l’air en pleine forme!
7 Enlevez vos chausettes!
8 Et ça, c’est combien?
9 J’adore les gants!
10 Je n’aime pas la couleur!

A This new skirt is great!
B Yes. I need a white t-shirt.
C Put your shoes in the locker.
D I love the leather gloves!
E And how much is that?
F I don’t like the colour.
G The blue tie goes well with your shirt.
H She is looking really good.
I Take off your socks!
J Can I help you?

Some useful links:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/languages/french/experience/shopping/
http://quizlet.com/1381441/les-vetements-francais-flash-cards/

http://www.cyrillus.fr/doudoune-femme-capuche-carmin-chine.htm?ProductId=002000153&FiltreCouleur=6679&t=13

http://www.promod.fr/femme/lookbook.html

http://www.lyricsmania.com/la_valise_lyrics_dorothee.html

Ask for French lessons line. At £10 for half an hour, you will find your French improving in very little time. All you need is a telephone and computer or simply Skype. A practical, convenient and very cheap way to learn French!

Contact:angieannandrews@gmail.com

About angeleannandrews

I am Anglo Maltese and live in Surrey with my husband and son. I have been teaching languages for almost 30 years. Having been trained in Anthropology, I have social issues at heart. When I was nearing 50, I wished to use my talents to make money for charity. I have created 50 photo-poems which will be featuring on this site. If you wish to encourage my effort, please give a small donation to ShelterBox http://www.justgiving.com/user/23773460 after reading my poems. Many people are out there actually tackling the world's problems. We may not be able to join them but every little helps.Thanks a million! Angie
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

